Sweet Cooking

Applesauce Cookies with Maple Syrup Glaze

In Cookies, Fruit on September 29, 2010 at 9:33 am

Applesauce and oatmeal cookies with maple syrup glaze. The perfect cookie for Autumn!

Remember that applesauce I made? I had an ulterior motive. I used a lot of it to make cookies. I have baked breads with applesauce before but never a cookie. You should try it. They are great!

Follow Martha’s recipe.

Make the batter as instructed. This batter is more wet than a typical cookie dough.

Bake the cookies for 13 minutes and then let them cool completely. Do not even consider icing them before they are totally cool to the touch.

While the cookies are cooking and cooling, make the icing. The icing is made of powdered sugar, maple syrup and water. I recommend adding the water 1 tablespoon at a time. I found that after one tablespoon of water, my icing was good. I think that it would have been too runny if I had used all 3 tablespoons of water.

Aren't they cute? I love the addition of the icing. They taste great too. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

