Sweet Cooking

Just a Little Something For You

In Just Good Food on October 8, 2010 at 9:39 am

I have had a really busy week, and I’m leaving in a few hours to go to San Diego for a long weekend. We are visiting friends there, and I can’t wait to be in sunny Southern California! When I’m about to go away, I don’t cook a lot. I don’t want to buy a lot of groceries that will just spoil while I’m gone, and I’m typically dieting, so I eat weird stuff – like oatmeal for dinner.

I did try a new pasta sauce this week that I wanted to share. Have you ever heard of Rao’s? It’s an Italian restaurant in Harlem that is notoriously difficult to get into. There are only 10 tables. As legend has it, the tables are actually owned by individuals. And the only way you can get a seat at one of these precious tables is to be invited by the person who owns it. I would really like to eat there one day, but I don’t know anyone who owns a table. So, I guess I’ll have to settle for this….

I purchased this jar of Rao's sauce at Whole Foods. I've seen it at a lot of other supermarkets too. Maybe you can buy it at your local grocery. It's expensive, but delicious!

I am usually weary of sauces out of a jar. That typically means it has a lot of chemicals in it. I was pleasantly surprised to find this ingredient list on the Rao’s jar.

Nothing bad there! It actually looks like what I would put into a pot of homemade sauce.

For dinner, I sauteed some onion, green pepper and garlic in olive oil. Then added lean ground beef. Once it was cooked through, I poured in this jar of sauce and some freshly crushed red pepper. I let it sit at low temperature for an hour and then served it with spaghetti. I feel like this type of cooking is cheating, but when life is busy, sometimes “semi-homemade” is just the answer.

Have a great weekend everyone. I’ll be back middle of next week and have a delicious recipe for pumpkin bread to share!

 

 

  1. I read about the Rao’s tomato sauce with envy. It made me want pasta, so I went to our local Winn Dixie, (in small town Alabama), and there it was, 4 different varieties of Rao’s tomato sauce, just above the dried pasta. I could not believe it. It took me a while to decide which to buy, but I finally decided on the vodka sauce. I will let you know how it is. Thanks for the blog, because I would not have known the Rao’s “story” without it.

  2. I haven’t tried the vodka sauce. Let me know how you like it.

Leave a Reply

