Sweet Cooking

Delicious Pumpkin Bread

In Bread, breakfast, Muffins on October 13, 2010 at 9:22 am

It’s definitely Fall….cool bite to the air, every woman in NYC is wearing boots , football season is in full swing and pumpkins are everywhere. I think pumpkin is underused in the kitchen. I like to make pumpkin soup, ravioli stuffed with pumpkin, and last but not least, pumpkin bread. This is an easy Cooking Light recipe that is a fall staple for me.I’ve made it many times, and it does not disappoint.

 

Whisk together the dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice.

 

 

In a separate bowl, mix together the sugar, eggs, oil, and buttermilk. The recipe calls for 2 eggs and 1/2 cup egg substitute. I used 4 eggs. I don't use egg substitute when baking.

 

 

Combine the wet and dry ingredients.

 

 

Then add 1 can of pumpkin and some water. Be sure not to use pumpkin pie filling...that's a totally different thing.

 

 

Pour the batter into a standard loaf pan and top with either pecans or walnuts. I've used both and either works fine. This recipe makes 2 loaves of bread.

 

 

Or...you can make one loaf and 12 muffins. I chose to do that. I froze the bread and ate the muffins. I didn't have enough nuts for the muffins, and honestly, I didn't miss them. The muffins are delicious when they are slightly warm. Enjoy!!

 

  1. i friggin love pumpkin bread. it is awesome for breakfast with a cup of cofee

Leave a Reply

