Sweet Cooking

Pulled Pork Sandwich = Voodoo Success

In Just Good Food on October 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Well, I'm not sure if it was my voodoo or just the arms of legs of #2.

Either way, my team won! I am pretty sure my voodoo had nothing to do with it, but I certainly had fun with it.

Final Score: Auburn 65 - Arkansas 43!! Take that Hogs.

So, I cooked a Boston Butt (for the first time ever). I did not photograph the cooking process because this was possibly the least attractive dish I’ve ever made. It was seriously ugly. Not one thing about my pork was photogenic.

I wasn’t really sure how to cook this thing, so I called my friend who is a chef to inquire about cooking techniques. This is what she advised (which I followed meticulously):

1. Make a rub of kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, garlic powder and cayenne pepper and rub it all over the butt.

2. Put the butt in a pot and add one cup of apple cider vinegar and then add water to cover the butt.

3. Put the lid on the pot and cook the butt at 250° for 4 hours.

4. Remove from oven and let it rest for quite a while (I let mine rest an hour or so)

5. Trim off any fat and shred the meat.

The results were outstanding. For more recipes and tips from my chef friend, visit her blog. She also recommended a recipe for homemade BBQ sauce. This is a solid ketchup based sauce. It’s not too spicy, so if you like heat, you need to add some fire. Otherwise, it’s really good.

This was the only decent photo I could get of my boston butt! I will definitely be making this again. Delicious!

  1. I think you are responsible for our beating the Hogs!! those two close calls both went our way…. voodoo, call this thing the butt voodoo recipe….. be sure to make that with a v not a d > !!!

Leave a Reply

