Sweet Cooking

Mrs. Fields

In Cookies on November 1, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Who doesn’t love Mrs. Fields? Honestly, I hadn’t thought much about her until recently. We were visiting friends in Maryland, and our host made these delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies. I couldn’t get enough of them. I even took a baggie of them “to go” for our car ride home. Her recipe? Mrs. Fields!

There is a shocking (well, it was shocking to me) secret in this recipe. Mrs. Fields takes oatmeal, grinds it into a fine powder, and then adds it to the cookie dough. CRAZY!!!

I put some Quaker Oats into my mini prep....

A few pulses later, it looks like this!

I am not sure how Mrs. Fields came up with this technique, but it makes a really delicious chocolate chip cookie. The rest of the recipe is pretty standard.

This is a hearty dough...a little thicker than my typical cookie dough.

Scoop out the cookies as usual.

Then bake at 375° for 6-8 minutes. Mine took the full 8 minutes. I have to say, these cookies are really magnificent (especially when they are still warm). If I had to rate this cookie, I would say that I prefer the dough of the Nestle Tollhouse cookie. But once the cookies are baked, I prefer the Mrs. Fields cookie.

They are best fresh out of the oven. Enjoy!

  1. Things will taste amazing to you in the next few months!!! Even very strange things that you will probably never eat again! I loved candy corn. Ack.

Leave a Reply

