Sweet Cooking

Bun in the Oven

In Miscellaneous on November 5, 2010 at 10:51 am

And I’m not talking about the kind made with yeast and flour. That’s right folks, I am pregnant. Really pregnant. As in 16 weeks pregnant.

That’s why my blog has suffered a bit of late.

Being pregnant is exhausting work.

Really exhausting. As in you stayed up all night and took a red eye home and didn’t sleep and went to work and then did it all again the next night.

And honestly, I haven’t been that jazzed about food. About 6 weeks ago, I had no interest in food at all. I ate an english muffin topped with cheese and jalapenos for dinner 8 days in a row. I didn’t think that meal was blog worthy. Dan was disgusted and his diet suffered greatly during that time.

I’m feeling better now. I’m eating like a horse and having fun in the kitchen again. So the blog should be a little more regular.

Here are the answers to the common questions:

1. When is the baby due? Middle of April.
2. How are you feeling? Excited, petrified, exhausted. And I have acne and killer headaches. This is odd because I’ve never had bad skin or migraines before.
3. How is Dan? He is fine and seems to be handling pregnancy well. He’s not showing at all.

4. Do you miss wine?

Yes, but not as much as I would have thought. I’ve actually had fun trying non-alcoholic cocktails. Alcohol free mojitos are great.
5. Are you going to find out the gender? Yes, I have an ultra sound scheduled at the beginning of December. We are going to ask the tech to write down the gender and we’re going to read it for the first time on Christmas morning.
6. Would you consider naming the baby after Cam Newton.

Yes, most definitely.

Have a great weekend everyone!

  1. That’s really great news, Lavon. Congratulations!

    Before naming after Cam, let’s see how the NCAA investigation turns out, though (not that Cam wasn’t worth every penny). ;P

    • Please, this “NCAA Investigation” is nothing but a smear campaign! I am so irritated by it all. Cam deserves media attention because of his amazing abilities and NOT because Urban Meyer and the Bammers are jealous. Sorry about the Jackets last night. You better be cheering for Auburn the rest of this year. – LaVon

  2. please don’t name your first baby after cam. there are much better southern names that new york would welcome!

    • We will (probably) not name the baby after Cam. I think we’re going to go with a super Italian name like Luigi, Mario or Donatella. Just kidding. We have no good names picked out yet!

  3. I hope you got our phone messages. We are so happy for you! And, I love your blog. Bought a Boston Butt last night and am going to do your “Surenuff” bbq! It is finally a little cool here in Austin and Lewis suggested chilli but, I have had your pork on my mind since first reading about it. We are happy we can somewhat relax tomorrow with AU playing Chattanooga but, Lewis is beside himself with the Cam rumors. Please give love to Dan! PS- I teared up about reading the gender news on Christmas day…what a gift. Best to you. Amy

    • Hi Amy, I got your sweet message. Thank you so much. We are really excited and looking forward to the thrills (and challenges) of parenthood. Glad you like the blog, I’ve had a lot of fun doing it. Please tell Lewis hello. I am totally distraught over this unfounded smear campaign against Cam. I am confident that it will blow over and we will continue to win football games. Do me a favor and shake a little cajun seasoning on your boston butt. We need to help LSU all we can! – LaVon

  4. Congrats LaVon! Was wondering if your kitchen had exploded or something, then I heard the news from across the slough! Hank and wife just had their first and they, too, saved their gender-news till on anniversary trip to San Francisco last June. Our new little Henry is a doll as I am sure your sweet one will be. Blessings to all….Beth L.

  5. YES! I’m beyond thrilled for you two!!! Let’s catch up soon!

  6. not to offend our Bama friends and my wife, let’s name the baby War Eagle… that is less threatening than CN. Seriously, what is wrong with Larkin or Larkina if it is a girl? or any other name.. cause that is going to be a very cute baby! how about” Cuteness” Yea I like that a lot, Cuteness Napoli!!! and it will be no exageration.!!!

  7. Yeah!! So excited for you guys!! Sending well wishes and hopes that the tireds and headaches (and acne- what is that about?) all ends soon! xoxo

  8. No, Larkina is not a cute name. I vote for Cuteness!

  9. incredible news! around the corner (and down 7 or so blocks) and the last to know. i need to be more neighborly and and have you over so that i stay up to date.

Leave a Reply

