Sweet Cooking

Chicken Flop

In Just Good Food on November 9, 2010 at 11:47 am

Those of you who have read my blog for a while know that I am not a huge chicken fan. My husband, however, is. So from time to time (mainly when I want something) I make chicken for dinner. By far, the best chicken I’ve made is a whole roasted chicken. But let’s face it, sometimes you just don’t want to cook the entire bird. I recently tried this Cooking Light recipe for Chicken with Lemon-Leek Linguine.

The main problem with this recipe, for me, was the pasta. It just didn’t have a lot of flavor. Dan agreed, but he also didn’t love the chicken. I thought the chicken was good, actually. So, you’ll have to try it and decide for yourself.

First, you pound the chicken so it's all even and give it a good sprinkle of salt and pepper. Then dredge both sides in flour.

I hate pounding chicken. It is so barbaric. I would rather have blood drawn than pound out chicken. But, I will pound the chicken for the sake of having it all cook evenly and quickly. But I really do HATE it.

Cook the cicken in a little butter until it's done. Be sure to cook it well. You don't want to invite Big Sal to dinner.

Now, for the pasta. I love leeks and lemon (and butter) so there is no reason why this should not have been great. Honestly, it just wasn’t. I bet it would have been better if I had used more butter and salt. Note to self: when in doubt, always add butter and salt. Basically, you make a sauce of garlic, sauteed leeks, lemon juice and chicken broth. Toss the pasta in it and then serve it with the chicken.

I should have known this dinner was a flop when even Chance wasn't interested.

The best thing about this recipe is a little vinaigrette that is included in the magazine. I will definitely be making it again. They don’t include the vinaigrette recipe on-line, so here you go: combine 1 tablespoon olive oil, 2 teaspoons white wine vinegar (I used champagne vinegar), 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard and a little salt. It’s delicious!

  1. interesting…all seems right. funny how something so simple can be a flop.

Leave a Reply

