Sweet Cooking

Vegetable Lasagna

In Just Good Food on November 15, 2010 at 6:57 pm

This is such an easy and delicious meal. It’s great for anyone, but I’m sure a vegetarian would especially appreciate this meatless take on lasagna. Plus, it makes a ton so you can eat off of it for several days. Follow this Cooking Light recipe.

Step 1 - Mix together some ricotta, Parmesan, and mozzarella cheese along with an egg.

Step 2 - chop all of the vegetables...zucchini, red pepper, onion, yellow pepper and mushrooms. And garlic, of course.

I did not use all of the mushrooms that the recipe calls for. I just used one package, and I thought that was plenty. Once you have chopped all of the vegetables, sauté them until they are soft. Now you are ready to start layering the lasagna. I did not cook my noodles prior to putting them into the lasagna. I had some of those oven-ready noodles that don’t have to be boiled first. It’s a huge time saver and I recommend it for anyone who is limited in time (or just lazy). I also used store bought marinara. I used Rao’s, but any good quality jar sauce will do.

Step 3 - Layer everything as instructed and top with cheese. I was generous with the cheese!

Step 4 - Cover and bake at 350° then uncover the dish and bake for 10 minutes longer until the cheese is nice and melted.

Step 5 – and this is a very important step. The lasagna must rest before you cut into it. The recipe says to let it sit for 10 minutes. I let mine sit for 20. Mostly because Dan was late. But I actually think the extra 10 minutes helped make the lasagna less runny and more firm. I hate cutting into a lasagna and the sauce starts going everywhere. I like a neat square that I can put on a plate without a mess.

This photo is not that great. It looked better in person. And it tasted better than it looked!

Speaking of photos…the winter is challenging. Now that it gets dark right after lunch, there is very limited natural light to take advantage of. My photos will suffer. Natural light is what makes them so pretty. So bear with me!

Leave a Reply

