Sweet Cooking

Turkey and Gravy

In Holidays on November 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm

I couldn’t eat my sweet potato casserole alone (well, actually, I could and did).  But Dan couldn’t, so I also made a roasted turkey breast and some quick gravy. I’m not a huge turkey lover, but I thought this recipe for an Herb Roasted Turkey Breast turned out well. Ina Garten’s recipes almost always turn out great. You start by making a paste of fresh herbs, garlic, dry mustard, salt and pepper, olive oil and fresh lemon juice.  I did it in the mini prep, and it comes together really quickly.

Once you make the paste, you rub it underneath the skin and then on top of the skin, as well.

To cook the turkey, line a roasting pan with foil. Pour one cup of white wine in the bottom of the pan, and then put the turkey in the pan. I had a 6 pound turkey, so I roasted my breast for about one hour and 45 minutes at 325°.

I was intent on making sure the turkey was done, but not dry. I used a meat thermometer to make sure it was a perfect 165 degrees.

While the turkey rests, heat the oven up to 350° and warm all of your other dishes (dressing, sweet potato casserole, corn pudding, etc.). You can also make gravy! I have not yet perfected the art of great gravy. If you have a good recipe or tips, please send them my way. I used this Cooking Light recipe for Quick Gravy.

The recipe says to use chicken broth, butter, flour and some seasonings. Since I had lots of pan juices from my roasted turkey breast, I used that instead of chicken broth. I definitely think that helped with the flavor of the gravy.

Good gravy!

I hope all of you are cooking something delicious for Thanksgiving! Enjoy your time with family, friends and food!

Leave a Reply

