Sweet Cooking

Old Fashioned Apple Pie

In Fruit, Pie on December 16, 2010 at 10:34 am

First of all, I apologize for my recent absence. I wish I could tell you that I’ve been busy helping the homeless or finding a cure for cancer. In reality, I’ve been swept up in football season, family events and general holiday madness. Additionally, I have spent hours, maybe days, trying to find a warm maternity coat. It does not exist. I am going to be cold all winter. So, as a result, I honestly haven’t been cooking much at all. I did, however, find time to make Dan an apple pie for his birthday. He requested pie instead of cake. He doesn’t like icing. Whatever.

This is my second ever apple pie from scratch. I used Martha Stewart’s recipe for Old Fashioned Apple Pie. I made the dough a day in advance, and I just used my hands to make the dough mixture. I wasn’t sure if I was doing it correctly or not, but it seemed to work out okay. I didn’t photograph the dough making because it was messy and I was concentrating on trying to get the texture right.

On to the pie, chopping the apples takes some time. Just turn on some music or a TV show and get to work. I used a combination of granny smith and gala apples.

Slice the apples thinly.

Divide the dough in half and roll out to pieces in equal size (one for the bottom crust and one for the top crust).

Once the dough is done and the apples are chopped, you just mix the apples with cinnamon, flour and sugar and assemble the pie. The recipe calls for cloves, but I omitted them.

Spread the apple mixture into the bottom pie crust and dot with butter (do not skimp).

Layer on the top crust and cut holes in it to allow air to escape. In hindsight, I wish I had made my holes smaller.

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour and fifteen minutes. This photo is a little dark...the top crust was not burned, but it sort of looks that way here.

I let this pie rest for several hours before serving it. I served it at room temperature, but I think it would have been best warm with vanilla ice cream. Dan does not like warm desserts (isn’t he just nuts?), and since it was HIS birthday I obliged.

I hope all of you are having a wonderful holiday season. I know it’s a busy time of year. Just remember that “stressed” spelled backwards is “desserts”! I hope you eat or make something delicious today!

  1. cool, I never recognized stressed spelled backwards is desserts,, that is fun…. your husband is not right…… when it comes to desserts.. perfect otherwise.Dad

Leave a Reply

