Sweet Cooking

Hello Again!

In Miscellaneous on August 4, 2011 at 9:53 am

I’m back (sort of)! In the past 8 months, I lived through an apartment renovation where our kitchen was taped up for almost 2 months.

Oh, and I had a baby!

Now I have an almost 4 month old.

She does not like swimsuits. Otherwise, she is fairly agreeable.

Motherhood is an amazing, frustrating, emotional, happy, overwhelming, time consuming, fun, and rewarding experience. Hopefully I’ll be able to balance blogging, being a mom and wife, and having a life! My posts will not be daily…I’m aiming for 2 a week (but I’ll settle for one). And I’ll probably be using fewer photographs. The photos are really time consuming (getting the right shot, editing and uploading – it takes forever).  So without further delay….I’ll tell you what I’ve been up to in the kitchen!

I made Lemon Grilled Chicken Breasts recently. I cooked 4 breasts and had enough for dinner for me and Dan plus 2 lunches. The recipe is from Cooking Light and it’s pretty straightforward and simple.

I am in love with this side salad. It’s “Walnut-Green Bean Salad“. It’s really delicious and it’s a great side for almost any summer meal. It has bulgur in it. I bought a little bit of bulgur from Whole Foods (just enough for this recipe) and it costs $.65. What else can you buy for $.65? And one cup of bulgur goes a long way! I ate on this salad for several days. I think it’s even better when it’s a day old.

In case you are wondering...Chance loves Anna, but he was a little shocked when we brought her home from the hospital. Frankly, we all were.

Ummm, yeah, so that’s what I’ve been up to. Pretty boring. I have spent a lot of the last four months feeding the baby. While I was doing that I read some really good books. And I watched the Auburn/Oregon game at least 3 times.

I highly recommend Tina Fey's book, Bossy Pants. It is hysterical and there is a chapter entitled "There is a drunk midget living in my house" that really spoke to me.

I also read Ruth Reichl’s books. I really enjoyed them. Ruth is a former food critique, cook and editor of Gourmet Magazine. She’s also a great writer and her memoirs Tender at the Bone and Comfort Me with Apples are both great reads. They are lighthearted and emotional at the same time. Perfect for a vacation (not that I’ve been on one of those) or a new mom who is up all night nursing a baby.

Baby is waking up – not sure why she decided to shorten her morning nap today! Next time I promise some food pics and less baby talk. Hope you come back!

 

 

 

 

 

  1. good to have the blog back in any form

  2. Glad you are back. I just finished Bossy Pants and it was great. I download books on my Ipod and listen to them when I walk. You should try this while you are feeding the baby! Audible.com.

  3. yeah! bring on the baby news. i love hearing about her (and chance, too)

  4. Yay! Hasn’t it been the wildest ride?! Love the blog, keep it coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

