Sweet Cooking

Pasta Salad with Tomatoes, Arugula, Pine Nuts and Herb Dressing

In Just Good Food, Lunch on August 7, 2011 at 6:40 pm

I love a good pasta salad. It’s the perfect accompaniment to almost any summer dish. I made this pasta salad to go alongside BLT sandwiches. If I had to choose one thing to eat all summer it would be BLT sandwiches! Goodness they are delicious. Toasty bread, home grown tomato, crisp bacon. I can’t get enough of them!

Back to the salad. I got this recipe from Food and Wine. It is super easy and tasty. While I was boiling the pasta, I put all of the herbs and garlic into the mini prep and gave it all a good chop. Then I added yogurt (instead of mayo) and olive oil. The recipe also says to add 1/4 cup pine nuts to the herb mixture. I didn’t have a lot of pine nuts on hand, so I just left those out. I used goat milk yogurt, but I think any plain yogurt would do just fine.  You might ask why one has goat milk yogurt on hand…well, I’m breast feeding the babe, and some people say that cow dairy causes gas in babies.

And, for whatever reason, goat dairy does not.

The babe had lots of gas, and I was desperate to try anything, so I cut out cow dairy and stocked up on goat yogurt, almond milk and tofu cheese (which is horrible). Only to find that the alternative dairy didn’t really make the situation any better. Basically, she just had gas. She still has gas, but now she just toots and smiles. She used to toot and cry.

Once the pasta is finished, drain it and toss it with the arugula. Then add the tomatoes and dressing and toasted pine nuts (I did have a few, so I toasted them up and put them in the salad).

And voila, delicious pasta salad! I used penne instead of fusilli because that's what was in the pantry.

This is a great salad for a picnic in the park or to take on a boat ride. I tossed in some grilled chicken for lunch too. I’m all about cooking once and eating twice these days! I hope you had a great weekend!

  1. lot of smiling going on

Leave a Reply

