Sweet Cooking

Whole Wheat Apple Zucchini Bread

In Bread, breakfast, Fruit on August 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

If you tasted this bread, you would not believe that it doesn’t contain any sugar, oil or butter. I had extremely low expectations for this very reason. How can bread be  good, edible even, without ANY sugar, butter or oil?

This bread really surprised me.

I followed this recipe from Clean Eating. I used almond flour instead of spelt flour so my bread had a slight almond flavor. I used a granny smith apple and 0% Fage yogurt.

When this bread came out of the oven it looked and smelled delicious.

I had a piece as soon as it was finished baking and a piece the next day. It’s definitely best warm or slightly toasted. I resisted the urge to spread a little butter on it (trying to save calories anywhere I can these days). I think if I were going to make this bread again, I would use vanilla yogurt. Just that slight addition of sweetness might make this bread really, really tasty. Or….wait for it….I might add some chocolate chips. Now we’re talking!!

This is the first recipe I’ve ever tried from Clean Eating. It was a solid first. I will let you know if I try anything else.

I hope you all (all dear 7 of you) have a great weekend. The babe is taking a long morning nap so I am off to fold burp cloths and swiffer the apartment. Good times!

  1. am I one of the seven? i hope so! this bread sounds surprisingly good. my grandma used to make zucchini bread with choc chips and it was awesome.

Leave a Reply

