Sweet Cooking

Peach Bread

In Bread, breakfast on September 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I made this bread a few weeks ago when peaches were perfectly in season.

It was really delicious. I did modify this recipe quite a bit. I am trying to lose a few LBs, so I am cutting calorie corners wherever I can. I’m not really sure switching from all purpose flour to whole wheat flour helps in the calorie department, but it does seem healthier, no? There was a ton of oil in the original recipe so I substituted some applesauce. Since applesauce is sweet, I also halved the amount of sugar in the bread. Here is my modified list of ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 cups diced fresh peaches
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

When you put all of that together, it looks like this.

This recipe makes 2 loaves of bread. I think it turned out pretty well. It’s very cinnamony. Next time I think I would reduce the cinnamon to let the peach flavor shine a little more. I hope you have a great weekend!
Leave a Reply

