Sweet Cooking

Meatballs Part I

In Just Good Food on September 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

Dan is so excited. I’m making meatballs. I think it’s his favorite dish ever. When I make meatballs, I go ahead and make a huge batch. It’s not that hard to double the recipe and they freeze really well.

Start with a combination of meats. I use 1 pound each of ground sirloin, pork and veal.

This is the recipe I use. Please note the red wine stain on the card. Always, always have a glass of red wine while making meatballs.

I used the mini prep to chop the onion, garlic and herbs. Then add that to the meat with the breadcrumbs, eggs, salt and pepper.

Using your hands, mix everything together. It's a dirty job. Just don't think too much about it.

Then form the mixture into meatballs. This recipe, when doubled, makes about 50 meatballs. Mine were slightly smaller than golf balls.

I froze the meatballs on a cookie sheet and then transferred them into containers. I will be bringing you Meatballs Part II and Part III soon!

  1. i love meatballs – i haven’t made them with the mixture of the different meats in a while. might be a weekend project.

Leave a Reply

